Page Turners

16 Feb

So what have I been reading?! I am trying to read lots about food to keep my research for my senior project fresh and up to date. My sister recommended this book, and it is so on point with the research I am doing. I highly recommend Animal Vegetable Miracle to anybody interested in food, and where the heck it comes from! She explains how the role of the woman has changed and this influenced how we cook. The recipes that I have from my grandparents, great grandparents, and great-great grandparents, are from a time when the women’s role was to stay home and cook. When women got jobs in the work force (yipeee) we let the quality of food we eat slip, hello TV dinners (oh no…) This is a small portion of the book, but it put everything in perspective for me, why we eat the way we eat, and how America got here. Don’t get me wrong, I am so happy that I get to work (as an equal with men), but I can’t let these recipes be forgotten! Kingsolver explains that cooking doesn’t take long and we can have our cake and eat it too! The main point of the book is Kingsolver and her family eats local food, only local food, for 1 year! They eat the food of their land and the book is the journey through the seasons, and how they survive.

Okay, so I won’t brag about this book anymore, I dote on Michael Pollan enough. But I would say my project is loosely based on his rule, “Don’t eat anything you grandmother wouldn’t recognize as food.” This is hard for me because I love many foods that I imagine my grandmother wouldn’t recognize (uh…chili cheese fritos? Or anything ending in ‘ito’ for that matter). Just read this book. okay? Watch Food Inc., just fall in love with this guy, you won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

