Snapshot

10 Feb

I went home today for a quick visit with my folks. While I was home I wanted to go through a lot of the old pictures my parents have, tucked away in boxes, and see what I could find. With my families help (my mom, dad, and grandpa) I got a lot of great information today. I plan to include some photographs in my cookbook. The cookbook is really a painting of my genealogy through food, and the photographs help to introduce the main characters. I found a treasure trove of photos, including this one, of a typical Thanksgiving spread at Grandma Ellis’s home (that would be my moms, moms, mom, or my great-grandma, famous for her chocolate gravy).

I found it really inspiring that someone took this food photography, way back then. That someone appreciated this home cooked meal enough to snap a picture and document the holiday. We don’t think much of taking a picture of our meals today, because with digital photography photos are of endless supply. But whoever took this photo used one of probably only twelve photos they had on the roll, so obviously this was of some importance to them. And of the other photos of family laughing and eating that day I appreciate this one, because it is a little glimpse into the food of our nations past. Notice the vegetables, they are probably all from their garden, canned during the summer just for this occasion. The food on the table all looks so familiar, turkey, mashed potatoes, green beans, but they way that it got to this table is probably more foreign to us then we can begin to imagine.

This photo is such a gem, and I can’t wait to find a way to incorporate it into my book.

Thanksgiving at Grandma Ellis's

One Response to “Snapshot”

  1. sewfrench February 11, 2011 at 7:34 am #

    This is great! I love it.

Leave a Reply

