Sunday Night Rice Pudding Tastes Good Every Night

17 Jan

This recipe is originally from my paternal grandmother, Suzanne. But I always remember my mother cooking it. We called it Sunday Night Rice Pudding, because often on a lazy Sunday my mom would cook this in the evening for dessert. This is not a dish you make just any day, it is a special treat. Nothing tastes better than a warm bowl of comforting rice pudding on a cold winter night. I share this recipe with you because it is very unique. I looked around on the web and not many people make rice pudding with egg. The egg makes it very rich and thick.

½ c. rice in a cup of boiling water.

Lid on and cook 7 minutes.

Add 1 quart of whole milk. And ½ stick of butter. Stir a little bit, then cover and cook on low heat for 1 hour. Beat 3 eggs (remember to temper the eggs!!), ½ c. sugar, 1 tsp. good quality vanilla. Pour into rice mixture, whisking quickly. Serve with sugar and cinnamon.

I make this recipe with vegan butter and almond milk and it is just as rich and satisfying! Also good with raisins and nutmeg on top, or for a special breakfast treat add sliced banana on top! For an Indian twist add cardamom, coconut milk, golden raisins, and pistachios.

Yummmm...

2 Responses to “Sunday Night Rice Pudding Tastes Good Every Night”

  1. sewfrench January 17, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

    Oh, my, I think I need to go heat me up some, from last night!
    Good call on the raisins, I always forget. Beautiful photo, too!

  2. foodfordesign January 17, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

    I LOVE it with raisins, it adds another texture and a different flavor of sweetness, I think it adds a lot to the dish.

Leave a Reply

