What Will I Eat This Year?

10 Jan

As we enter a new year I wonder, what will I eat this year? I read a wonderful article on the huffington post that predicted what food will gain in popularity, and what will diminish. Here is the forecast:

Diminishing in popularity:

Superfruits: ya, we’re over it pomegranate, you were too messy anyway.

Cupcakes: They’re cute, but I think it’s just overdone.

Bacon: Thank goodness, our arteries were crying.

Gaining popularity:

Gluten Free: Finally our gluten free friends will find more options

Street Food: If you live in a city that is lucky enough to have street food you will be seeing more clever options for meals on the go

Meatless Meals: yipppeeeee for Meatless Monday

Probiotics: Your digestive system will thanks you

Growing you own: I am not able to grown my own, but I have a hard working sister who provides me with fresh eggs and yummy canned goods from her garden. It’s healthy and tasty, and eating what’s in season is better for you and saves on fuel to transport produce. Here is another reason to eat local.

And lastly simpler, more wholesome foods. I think that is what I am going to eat this year. Keep it simple, keep it homemade, and keep it wholesome. Like Michael Pollan says, “Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants.” And I think the most important thing I am learning from my experience researching family recipes is, “Don’t eat anything your grandmother wouldn’t recognize.” I can’t imagine my Great-Grandma-Ellis noshin’ on a dorritio, it just didn’t happen.

I have to say I am very excited about this trend forecast. Especially the meatless part, and who ever imagined that bacon would be on a downward slope.

p.s. My mom just posted some guidelines on her blog for what you should aim to eat daily, and weekly, check it out here!

Leave a Reply

