Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire

14 Dec

I saw this great post on Smitten Kitchen today (another great food blog for you to follow!) She makes a roasted chestnut cookie. The cookie looks a lot like my mom’s snowball cookie (I will share these as it gets closer to Christmas). The snowball cookie is a pecan cookie dipped in powdered sugar, it is my favorite holiday cookie!! I am waiting in anticipation to eat my mothers holiday cookies!

 

Roasting the Chestnuts

Finished Cookie!!

This leads me to my next question. Have you ever roasted a chestnut?? I have not! I found this article on my trusty huffington post that details how to roast chestnuts, and no worries, if you don’t have an open fire you can do it in the oven! Did you know that chestnuts are also rich in fiber, magnesium, iron, vitamin C, phosphorous, and copper! A healthy winter treat! Maybe I will have to try this…

Roasting a Chestnut

Leave a Reply

