I Would Call It a Cupcake, But Then I Couldn’t Eat It For Breakfast

25 Sep

This is a photograph I took right before I ate one!

I saw a recipe in this months Rachel Ray magazine for a caramel apple muffin that inspired me ! I thought I could make this recipe easier though, by using Jiffy Oatmeal Muffin mix. Here is is:

This image is from the Rachel Ray mag website

1 package Jiffy Oatmeal Muffin Mix

1 egg

1/3 c. milk (I used almond milk)

1/4 teaspoon good cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon good vanilla extract

1 average size apple

17-20  caramel candies

1/2 tablespoon cream (I used almond milk)

Mix Jiffy Mix, Milk, Egg, Cinnamon, Salt, Vanilla in a bowl. Grate the apple and mix the grated apple bits into the batter also. Spoon into muffin cups, should make about 7 muffins. Bake as directed on muffin mix, may take an extra minute or two because the apple adds some moisture.

In a small glass bowl put the caramel candies and about 1/2 a tablespoon cream. Melt in microwave for about a minute. When the muffins are cool dunk the top of the muffin in the caramel goo.

Trust me, you will love these! It’s all the taste of a caramel apple, crammed in a muffin. And Jiffy products are made in Michigan (wooohooo).

Leave a Reply

