Senior Review

5 Apr

I have had such a busy few weeks. For those of you who don’t know in order to participate in my senior thesis show (and graduate) I had to present my project to a panel of faculty members. After a 45 minute presentation and question and answer period the panel decides if I pass or fail. If I pass I am able to participate in my senior show, if I fail I have to retake this class in the fall and I do not graduate. A friend compared the review to graphic design version of American idol, some of us go on to the next round, some don’t, there is a Simon, a Paula, and a Randy. Or maybe it is more like Survivor, and you just hope you don’t get voted off the design island…

Fast forward>>>>>>Good news, I passed!! I went straight home to my parents house and celebrated with some thai food and a grapefruit margarita!

So the next step is figuring out how my piece installed in the space. I have about 6 feet to work with at the gallery. This weekend, with my parents help, I found an awesome old kitchen table at an antique store to set up with my books on. I am going to incorporate other vintage kitchen items to help with the nostalgic food theme.

I served some of the recipes from my cookbook at the review for the panel to taste test, this is tomato relish.

French family hot mustard, so good...mmmmm

Sweet pickles, a.k.a. lazy mans gourmet pickles

Me, relaxing after my review with a grapefruit margarita!

The table I got, it is perfectly loved! Here it is in my dad's workshop getting new screws in it!

So this is my progress! I got the book printed, I got the installation ready to go, and I am T-minus 9 days until the show opens!

2 Responses to “Senior Review”

  1. Kim Jacques April 5, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

    Can’t wait to see it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

